Brittany Benningfield | Music | SIU

Southern Illinois University



College of Liberal Arts

Brittany Benningfield


Brittany Benningfield

Dr. Brittany Benningfield, of Hodgenville, Kentucky, is a lyric soprano and Lecturer of Voice at Southern Illinois University. She received her undergraduate degree in Music Education from Campbellsville University, the Master’s Degree in Vocal Performance at the University of Kentucky in the spring of 2011 and completed the Doctor of Musical Arts degree at UK in January 2018.  While studying under Dr. Angelique Clay at UK, Dr. Benningfield performed several leading lady roles, including Alice Ford in Verdi’s Falstaff, La Contessa in Mozart’s Le Nozze di Figaro, Donna Elvira in Mozart’s Don Giovanni, and Fiordiligi in Mozart's Cosi fan tutte. She’s also performed with Bay View Music Festival, Cincinnati Opera, Kentucky Opera, and is a frequent guest soloist for the Black Classical Artists of Louisville (KY).  A 2001 graduate of the Kentucky Governor’s School for the Arts, Dr. Benningfield became a faculty member for the Vocal Music discipline in 2015, where she teaches 30 of Kentucky’s best young vocalists every summer.  She most recently served as Interim Director of Choral Activities at Transylvania University, teaching undergraduate voice, opera workshop, and leading two SATB choirs.  Particularly active in the arts scene of central Kentucky, Dr. Benningfield served as vocal instructor for the Woodford Theatre Young Artists program, Central Music Academy, and has music directed for Blackbird Dance Theatre, Kentucky Conservatory Theatre, and the Transylvania University Theatre Department.