Faculty Senate | Offices, Committees & Councils | Faculty & Staff

Southern Illinois University



Faculty Senate

"The Faculty Senate is the body empowered to act as agent for the University faculty with delegated power to formulate broad policies in regard to the educational functions of the University. The Senate is charged to initiate, promote, and ensure the enforcement of policies involving academic and intellectual freedom and to concern itself in all matters of faculty status and welfare. The Faculty Senate normally consists of 32 members, two of those seats representing the non-tenure track faculty. Tenure/tenure track seats are determined by the number of the University's FTE faculty within each voting unit. All members serve three year terms." --SIU Faculty Senate