History Scholarships | SIU

Southern Illinois University



College of Liberal Arts



Congratulations to the 2022 winners of the History Program Scholarships!

Sumair Ahluwalia, Zachary Avery, Ronald Barnett, Eva Foster, Taija Gatewood, Stephen Grant, Claire Kassitas, Alyssa McGarvey, Gabrielle Salemi, Luke Snider, Jimmy Wormsley - John Leason Scholarship Fund (Juniors/Seniors in Teaching Education Program)

Zachary Avery - Norman Caldwell/James R. Sanders Scholarship (For Senior with highest GPA and all History credits earned at SIU Carbondale)

Sydney Cometto, Olivia Crader, Asmika Guragain - History Alumni Award (For Students with special achievement and promise in history)

Olivia Crader - Edward O'Day Paper Prize (Best History Paper written by an SIU Carbondale Undergraduate in calendar year)

Katelynn Rynsski – William A. Pitkin Award (junior or senior with 4.0 average)

Mikenzi Bushue, Francesca Burkett - Colonial Dames (awarded to students from the southern Illinois region)

Taija Gatewood – Wiesen-Zaretsky Award (awarded annually to an undergraduate History Major who had to overcome considerable personal obstacles and challenges to attend college and study history”)

Taija Gatewood – Dr. Jose Najar Scholarship (financial need and merit, preference given to Hispanic student)

The history program has a number of scholarships and prizes for exceptional students. Interested students should contact the Director of Undergraduate Studies, Dr. Joseph Sramek, sramek@siu.edu, phone: 618/536-2233.