Graduate Assistants in Residence | Communication Studies | SIU

Home
Southern Illinois University

CONTACT

SIU.EDU

College of Liberal Arts

faculty and students at department picnic

Graduate Assistants in Residence

Janine Armstrong

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

janine.armstrong@siu.edu

Intersectionality; gender communication; queer studies; communication pedagogy; instructional development.


Ashley Beard

(A.B.) (Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2002

Phone: (618) 453-3079

ashley.beard@me.com

Research Interests: Performance; performative writing; autoethnography; visual ethnography.


Jake Beck

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

jakebeck@siu.edu

Research interests: Performance studies; autoethnography; game studies; rhetorical criticism.


Kenny Beeker

(M.A.)

Location: COMM 2002

Phone: (618) 453-1897

kenneth.beeker@siu.edu

Research Interests: Deconstruction; post-structuralism; religious and political identity creation and maintenance.


Mick Brewer

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2002

Phone: (618) 453-3079

b.brewer@siu.edu

Research interests: Intercultural and critical/interpersonal communication; media students; feminist theory; Beyonce; horror films.


Lacey Brown

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2002B

Phone: (618) 453-1877

lacey.brown@siu.edu

Research interests: Organizational communication; identity management; stigma; intercultural communication.


Devin Collins

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2015

Phone: (618) 453-5618

devin.collins@siu.edu

Research interests: Performance studies; autoethnography; performative writing; interpersonal communication; health communication.


Alex Davenport

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2015

Phone: (618) 453-5618

davenpak@siu.edu

Research interests: Performance studies; presence/absence; materiality; animacy.


Angela Duggins

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2235

Phone: (618) 453-7580

angela.duggins@siu.edu

Research Interests: Performance studies; Ozark studies; persuasion; dysautonomia inclusion; constructive logic.


O.J. Duncan

(M.A.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

ojrocks@siu.edu

Research interests: Toxic masuclinity; intercultrual communication; organizational communication; gender and sexuality; and autoethnography.


Robert Fiedler

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

rfiedler@siu.edu

Research Interests: Oral histories; familial storytelling; corporate responsibility; activist and community-centered organizations; philosophy of communication.


Ryan Freels

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

rfreels@siu.edu


Scott Jarmon

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

scott.jarmon@siu.edu

Research interests: Intercultural communication; rhetorical criticism.


Alex Lockwood

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

alexlockwood@siu.edu

Research interests: Performance studies; phenomenology; posthumanism; environmental communication; philosophy of communication.


Kevin McCarty

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

kevin.mccarty@siu.edu

Research interests: Organizational communication/leadership studies; music as Communication from a feminist and political perspective; rhetoric; performance studies.


Dianah McGreehan

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

dianah.mcgreehan@siu.edu

Research interests: Critical/intercultural communication; performance studies; autoethnography; ethnography.


Caleb McKinley-Portee

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

crportee@siu.edu

Research interests: Performance studies; intercultural communication; critical race theory; black feminist thought; Africana studies; Afrofuturism.


Bolton Morales

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

bolton.morales@siu.edu

Research interests: Intercultural/relational communication; pedagogy; training and development.


Jeremy Omori

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

jeremy.omori@siu.edu

Research Interests: Critical intercultural communication; communication pedagogy; public pedagogy; peace pedagogy; intersectional identity; autoethnography.


Christos Patelis

(M.A.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

cspatelis@gmail.com

Research Interests: Performance studies; critical intercultural communication; new media.


Danette Pugh-Patton

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2207

Phone: (618) 453-1889

danettep73@siu.edu

Research Interests: Black feminist thought; queer theory; intercultural communication; ethnography and autoethnography.


Kalie Scanlan

(Ph.D.)

Research Interests: Performance studies; political performance; performance of everyday life; diversity studies; philanthropic studies.


Shelby Swafford

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

sswafford@siu.edu

Research Interests: women's, gender, and sexuality studies; reproductive justice; critical/cultural studies.


Emily Vajjala

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2207

Phone: (618) 453-1889

emilyvajjala@siu.edu

Research Interests: Critical communication pedagogy; gender and sexuality studies.


Darren Valenta

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202P

Phone: (618) 453-5251

darren.valenta@siu.edu

Research interests: Performance studies; stand-up comedy; critical communication pedagogy; disability studies; anxiety; rhetoric.


Lindy Wagner

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2002P

Phone: (618) 453-5251

lindy.wagner@siu.edu

Research Interests: Critical intercultural communication; intercultural training; colorism in institutions; social justice.


Colin Whitworth

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202K

Phone: (618) 453-4951

com.whitworth@gmail.com

Research interests: Performance studies; qualitative methodologies; media & pop culture; gender, race, and sexuality; aesthetic inquiry.


Anna Wilcoxen

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202L

Phone: (618) 453-8124

annawilcoxen@gmail.com

Research interests: Performance studies; intercultural communication; autoethnography; queer theory; economic class; gender; Midwest regional studies.


Tao Zhang

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

tao.zhang@siu.edu

Research interests: Postcolonialism; identity studies; intercultural communication; critical communication pedagogy.