The list under Production History includes production history for the SIU Department of Theater and McLeod Summer Playhouse. These programs operate as separate and unique entities. This was not always the case. The SIU Department of Theater was created in 1957. Previously, productions were presented under the banner of Southern Players. The Communications Building was constructed in 1966 and included a 500-seat proscenium house, The Communications Theater, which was re-named The McLeod Theater after the Department’s first chair, Archibald McLeod, in 1980. During that period the University operated on a tri-semester calendar. Summer productions were presented by the Department of Theater and the School of Music. Eventually these forces merged to jointly produce summer works. In 1972 when the tri-semester system was eliminated, the works were presented under the banner McLeod Summer Playhouse which acquired its own identity.
A Summer Playwright’s Workshop was started in 1987. This frequently served as a platform for MFA Thesis productions. These productions were moved into the Fall Semester in 2005.