Graduate Assistants | Communication Studies | SIU

Home
Southern Illinois University

CONTACT

SIU.EDU

College of Liberal Arts

faculty and students at department picnic

Graduate Assistants

Abdullah Alasmari

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

Email: asalasmari@siu.edu

Research Interests: Critical/classroom communication; teacher-student relationships


Ashley Beard

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2002N

Phone: (618) 453-3079

Email: ashley.beard@me.com

Research Interests: Performance; performative writing; autoethnography; visual ethnography


Jake Beck

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

Email: jakebeck@siu.edu

Research interests: Performance studies; new media; rhetorical criticism


Allison Brenneise

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2002L

Phone: (618) 453-8124

Email: brenneise@siu.edu

Research Interests: Disability/advocacy; pragmatics; community building; critical communication pedagogy; rhetoric; critical intercultural communication


Cameron Brewer

(M.A.)

Research Interests: Critical intercultural communication; visual rhetoric; popular culture


Mick Brewer

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

Email: b.brewer@siu.edu

Research interests: Queer theroy; feminist critique; masculinities; gender and sexuality studies; media studies


Lacey Brown

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

Email: lacey.brown@siu.edu

Research interests: Organizational communication; gender and sexuality; social justice; rhetorical criticism; ethnography


Rob Carlsen

(Ph.D.)

Research interests: Intercultural communication; critical/cultural studies; pedagogy; social justice


Devin Collins

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

Email: devin.collins@siu.edu

Research interests: Performance studies; autoethnography; performative writing; interpersonal communication; health communication


Alex Davenport

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2015

Phone: (618) 453-5618

Email: davenpak@siu.edu

Research interests: Performance studies; presence/absence; materiality; animacy


Stephenie DeArcangelis

(Ph.D.)

Research Interests: Performance studies; intercultural studies; feminism; sexual violence and trauma


Samantha Fentress

(Ph.D.)

Research Interests: Intercultural and diversity training; interactive learning activities and strategies for embodied learning; post 9/11 racist backlash on bodies of color; commodification of Indian-ness through corporatized products


Elizabeth Fines

(M.A.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

Email: efines24@siu.edu

Research interests: Feminist theory; rhetoric; family communication


Michael Forst

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

Email: mlforst@siu.edu

Research interests: Critical intercultural communication; gender and sexuality; LGBTQ community formation; critical qualitative and auto/ethnographic methods


Angela Glunz

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

Email: alglunz@siu.edu

Research Interests: Performance; autoethnography; feminist rhetorical criticism


Lindsay Greer

(Ph.D.)

Research Interests: Performance studies; feminist theory; media archaeology; visual culture


Jason Hedrick

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2015

Phone: (618) 453-5618

Email: jhedrick.2772@gmail.com

Research Interests: Experimenal theatre; literary adaptation; media in performance; film theory


Stephen Henry

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

Email: sthenry@siu.edu

Research Interests: Radical feminism; relational dialectics; sexual deviancy; agency


Sarah Hollingsworth

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2002P

Phone: (618) 453-5251

Email: sehollin@siu.edu

Research Interests: Rhetoric; community engagement; communication for social change


Gregory Hummel

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202B

Phone: (618) 453-1877

Email: ghummel@siu.edu

Research Interests: Intercultural/international communication; LGBTIQ studies; performances of identity; interpretive and critical (auto)methods; rhetorical criticism


Scott Jarmon

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

Email: scott.jarmon@siu.edu

Research interests: Intercultural communication; rhetorical criticism


Crys LaCroix

(M.A.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

Email: clacroix@siu.edu

Research interests: Intercultural communication; critical race theory; whiteness studies; autoethnography


Alex Lockwood

(M.A.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

Email: alexanderbrettlockwood@gmail.com

Research interests: Philosophy of communication; phenomenology; performance studies; subculture hegemony


Dianah McGreehan

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

Email: dianah.mcgreehan@siu.edu

Research interests: Critical/intercultural communication; performance studies; autoethnography; ethnography


Caleb McKinley-Portee

(M.A.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

Email: crportee@siu.edu

Research interests: Performance studies; intercultural communication; pop culture; mediated representations of queer people of color


Zach Moss

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

Email: zach.moss@siu.edu

Research interests: Whiteness studies; media studies; critical race theory; popular culture; afrofuturism


Carrie Mulderink

(M.A.)

Research Interests: Critical intercultural communication; critical communication pedagogy; gender; white privilege; ability


Savannah Palmer

(M.A.)

Research Interests: Performance studies; disability studies; performance of invisible disabilities


Danette Pugh-Patton

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

Email: DanetteP73@siu.edu

Research Interests: Black feminist thought; queer theory; intercultural communication; ethnography and autoethnography


L. Shelley Rawlins

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2002C

Phone: (618) 453-2815

Email: rawlins@siu.edu

Research Interests: Phenomenology; performance studies; aesthetic rhetoric; dialogic qualitative methods; ethics; existentialism; gender and sexuality


Lauran Schaefer

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

Email: lauran.schaefer@siu.edu

Research interests: Gender; sexual assault; autoethnography; performance


Patrick Seick

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

Email: patrick.seick@siu.edu

Research interests: Disability studies; intercultural communication; feminist theory; pedagogy


Antonio Spikes

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

Email: tonysp@siu.edu

Research Interests: Critical communication pedagogy; intercultural communication; Black masculinities; rhetorical criticism


Shelby Swafford

(M.A.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

Email: sswafford@siu.edu

Research Interests: Autoethnography; critical/cultural studies; gender and sexuality studies; relational communication


Emily Vajjala

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

Email: emilyvajjala@siu.edu

Research Interests: Critical communication pedagogy; gender and sexuality studies


Darren Valenta

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

Email: darren.valenta@siu.edu

Research interests: Performance studies; rhetorical criticism; bullying; anxiety; stand-up comedy; popular culture


David Whitfield

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2002K

Phone: (618) 453-4951

Email: david.w.whitfield@siu.edu

Research Interests: Critical pedagogy; intercultural communication; performance as everyday


Colin Whitworth

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

Email: com.whitworth@gmail.com

Research interests: Performance; autoethnography; mediated representations; marginalized identity


Anna Wilcoxen

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

Email: annawilcoxen@gmail.com

Research interests: Performance studies; autoethnography; queer theory; economic class; gender; Midwest regional studies


Yusaku Yajima

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

Email: yusaku.yajima@siu.edu

Research Interests: English hegemony; interpretive phenomenological analysis; marginalized identity research; phenomenology


Yvet Youssef

(M.A.)

Location: COMM 2206

Phone: (618) 453-1890

Email: yfmash@siu.edu

Research interests: Intercultural communication; feminist theory; social justice; identity/belonging; autoethnography


Anthony Zariñana

(M.A.)

Research Interests: Critical intercultural communication; performance studies; critical race theory


Tao Zhang

(Ph.D.)

Location: COMM 2202

Phone: (618) 453-1897

Email: tao.zhang@siu.edu

Research interests: Intercultural communication; rhetorical criticism; critical communication pedagogy